The Waiting Game by Jessica Thompson Blog Tour: Love Letter & My Review

IMG_20150812_170505

Kicking off Jessica’s blog tour is me!! I have been eagerly waiting for this book and when I asked by the lovely Rebecca Mundy at Hodder would I love to be part of this blog tour..I jumped at the chance! I am such a big fan of Jessica’s books, they always grip me within the first couple of chapters in which I then cannot stop until I have finished, however when I do finish, I feel all sad that’s over!

Jessica has kindly sent me an extract to have featured on this tour. It is a love letter from Mick to Betsy, Jessica imagined that this is what it would be like.. It is lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

A love letter from Mick to Betsy.

Dear Betsy,

I hope you donโ€™t mind me writing to you like this.

I wanted to say how nice it was to meet you at Thomas Lowtherโ€™s 21st birthday party in the Village Hall.

My older sister and her friends were talking about you in the living room and I happened to overhear. I was in the kitchen, making a cheese and pickle sandwich. They talk so loudly when theyโ€™re together, all shrieking and giggling, it makes my ears hurt.

One of them said you work at the womenโ€™s clothes shop in the old Exchange Centre, so I chanced my arm.

I gave this letter to my little sister Cassie, to pass on to you on her way to her ballet class in Althorpe Lane. I told her to look out for a beautiful shop assistant with blonde hair and the bluest eyes Iโ€™ve ever seen. I promised her some sweets in return, if she could get it to you safely without losing it, or opening it herself .

I only hope itโ€™s reached you? Otherwise youโ€™ll never know all the things Iโ€™m thinkingโ€ฆ

I canโ€™t believe weโ€™ve not met before Betsy. Weโ€™re in a small town, where everyone seems to know everything about each otherโ€™s lives. I canโ€™t even sneeze without my mum finding out.

I definitely would have noticed you if youโ€™d been out fetching something for your parentsโ€ฆ If Iโ€™d spotted you through the dusty window of the bakerโ€™s shop where I work on a Saturday afternoon I would have certainly remembered.

It was refreshing to see you at the party, so different to the other girls and full of mystery.

Did you move here recently from another town, perhaps? Whatever your story is, Iโ€™d like to know it.

The truth is, I canโ€™t stop thinking about you Bets. (Do you mind if I call you that?) I think I might be falling for you.

Iโ€™d really like to see you again. Iโ€™m only 19 and donโ€™t have much money to take you anywhere fancy like the older lads might, but we could go for a walk one evening when the stars are bright in the sky above the poppy fields.

Hopefully yours,

Michael James Bruce

P.S. Please donโ€™t show anyone this letter, especially my older sister. Burn it if you like, I wonโ€™t be offended.

My Review of The Waiting Game

I’m typing this review after just turning the last page..so it is so fresh in my mind! The Waiting Game is truly amazing, one book I don’t think I am going to be able to forget in a hurry.
Jessica has written another perfect book with twists and turns through out the book which keep you going, guessing what is going to happen as you read.ย 

Nessa Bruce waits for her husband to come through the double doors. She’d waited for him to return home from Afghanistan for what felt like forever, and now the moment was finally here. But Jake isn’t… Jake Bruce hasn’t come home, and it looks like he never will.

Nessa’s life – and that of her daughter Poppy – is turned upside down in an instant. What has happened to the elusive man at the centre of their world? They hold onto the hope that he is still out there somewhere, alive… but as time passes by, Nessa is forced to look at her life, at the decisions she has made and the secrets she has kept. For maybe somewhere within it all lies the answer to the question she’s desperate to answer – where is the man she loves?

The Waiting Game is just pure emotional with mental illness being discussed in the book bu also the face of losing a husband in the army..how painful that can be. I cannot explain how much I really enjoyed this book. I do urge you all to go out and buy it! You will not be disappointed! The cover is beautiful also as the whole story.

I really felt sorry for Nessa and I wasn’t sure how she was going to cope especially with her 14 year old daughter who in her teenage years acting out all the time and wanting everything when money is so tight for Nessa. I really wanted Nessa and Jake to become together again..but somehow I knew it would never be. The ending was so perfect!

The Waiting Game gets 5 stars as its so beautiful but raw and also leaving me an emotional wreck untilย the very last page…
didn't like it didn't like it didn't like it didn't like it didn't like it

One thought on “The Waiting Game by Jessica Thompson Blog Tour: Love Letter & My Review

  1. Pingback: The Waiting Game Blog Tour Round-up | jessica thompson books

Leave a Reply

